Find answers, information and resources to help you with all your California vehicle registration needs.
Registering a Vehicle Which Hasn't Had Tags For a Long Time
I have a car I'm trying to get back on the road and need to know what it is I'll be needing to get it registered in California again. It was last registered back in 2015. I got a smog check for it back then, but never renew the tags. Now I'm ready to start driving it again so I need to get new tags. I'm unsure if I'll need a smog check and what if any penalties I might have to pay.
Here is a current registration late fee chart:
- 1 to 10 Days Late - Additional 10% vehicle license and weight fee plus $10.00 DMV penalty and $10.00 CHP fee
- 11 to 30 Days Late - Additional 20% vehicle license and weight fee plus $20.00 DMV penalty and $20.00 CHP fee
- 31 Days to 1 Year - Additional 60% vehicle license and weight fee plus $30.00 DMV penalty and $30.00 CHP fee
- 1 Year to 2 Years - Additional 80% vehicle license and weight fee plus $50.00 DMV penalty and $50.00 CHP fee
- More Than 2 Years - Additional 160% vehicle license and weight fee plus $100.00 DMV penalty and $100.00 CHP fee